nerodisk.blogg.se

Transform fitness
Transform fitness









I help set conditions to heal from emotional trauma through the process of strength training. Q&A with Laura Khoudari What is trauma-informed personal training? I can be with myself more, which allows for a greater sense of safety.” I can tolerate the bad feelings because I can have compassion for myself for having bad feelings. With a compassionate approach, I feel safer. It wasn’t until I realized my body is not a machine that I really began to appreciate all it does for me. “I did not love my body until I started training compassionately - no matter what it looked like and how it performed. “In regards to conventional fitness, culturally, we don’t look deeper when we’re so busy celebrating this ability to override,” Khoudari points out.

transform fitness

I was not a trainer before I decided to do the trauma work,” Khoudari tells Greatist.įitness is often thought of as big boxing gyms and studios, but fitness can also be used to help heal the body by taking a mindful, compassionate approach. “I actually started this work because I wanted to do trauma work. While she loved strength training before she developed PTSD from an acute trauma, Khoudari was not a certified strength trainer at first. Laura Khoudari is a trauma-informed strength trainer that works with folks living with trauma. Those are a few examples of how our body’s nervous system is connected to thoughts, fear, or trauma. Or maybe you’re jumpy if a dog barks when you’re walking around the block. You may notice your body has been extra tense lately. Even the social media scroll through upsetting images, videos, and events 24/7 takes an emotional toll. From racial injustice protests to COVID-19 to police brutality, many Americans are living with trauma or experiencing it anew.

transform fitness

#TRANSFORM FITNESS HOW TO#

It seems like there’s rarely been a time where so many people need to talk about trauma, or learn how to feel safe in their bodies.

transform fitness

Share on Pinterest Photo courtesy of Laura Khoudari, Design by Wenzdai J.









Transform fitness